• AAS Honors Prof. Bloom

    March 1, 2009

    The American Astronomical Society's 2009 Newton Lacey Pierce Prize for 2009 has been awarded to Joshua Bloom, an associate professor of astronomy, for his work in exploring and understanding the nature of gamma-ray burst sources. The prize is given to an astronomer under the age of 36 for outstanding achievement in observational astronomical research based on measurements of radiation from an astro-nomical object. Bloom, who earned his doctorate at Caltech in 2002, joined the Berkeley faculty in 2005. Congratulations!

  • AAS Honors Two UCB Astronomy Faculty

    March 1, 2008

    The American Astronomical Society has honored two Astronomy Department faculty with awards for 2008. Professor Eliot Quataert was awarded the Society's 2008 Helen B. Warner Prize "for his contributions to plasma astrophysics and accretion processes, the theory of low luminosity galactic nuclei, and an extraordinary range of other topics in theoretical astrophysics." Professor Imke de Pater shares the 2008 Chambliss Writing Award with Jack Lissauer of NASA/Ames for their book entitled Planetary Astrophysics. The book surveys the entire field of planetary astronomy and "has rapidly become the standard text for teachers of planetary sciences." Congratulations!

  • Prof. Davis is awarded the Heineman Prize for outstanding work in astrophysics

    January 1, 2007

    Professor Marc Davis has been awarded the 2006 Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics by the American Astronomical Society (AAS). Davis officially received the award "for his pioneering work on the large-scale structure of the Universe" at the January 2007 AAS meeting in Seattle, where he also gave a talk. Davis was recognized "for his innovative and influential contributions to observations, simulations and instrumentation, and his outstanding mentoring of students, as examples of outstanding work in the field of astrophysics." Congratulations, Marc!