Eliot Quataert

  • Astronomy Congratulates Professor Eliot Quataert on being elected to the AAAS

    April 19, 2018

    The 1780 Charter of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences states that purpose of the Academy is "to cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people." AAAS Members have included John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, George Washington, Maria Mitchell, Alexander Graham Bell, Jonas Salk, John F. Kennedy, Martin Luther King, Jr., Aaron Copland, Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein, Winston Churchill, Laurence Olivier, Mary Leakey, Akira Kurosawa, and Nelson Mandela (to name a few). Nine UC Berkeley faculty have been elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, a time-honored, prestigious society that convenes leaders in academic, business and government sectors to solve critical national and global challenges.   

  • Prof. Quataert wins Noyce Prize for Teaching Excellence

    April 1, 2010

    Professor Eliot Quataert has been awarded the 2010 Noyce Prize. The Donald Sterling Noyce Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching is given annually to a faculty member in the physical sciences who has demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching, including curriculum development. Congratulations!

  • AAS Honors Two UCB Astronomy Faculty

    March 1, 2008

    The American Astronomical Society has honored two Astronomy Department faculty with awards for 2008. Professor Eliot Quataert was awarded the Society's 2008 Helen B. Warner Prize "for his contributions to plasma astrophysics and accretion processes, the theory of low luminosity galactic nuclei, and an extraordinary range of other topics in theoretical astrophysics." Professor Imke de Pater shares the 2008 Chambliss Writing Award with Jack Lissauer of NASA/Ames for their book entitled Planetary Astrophysics. The book surveys the entire field of planetary astronomy and "has rapidly become the standard text for teachers of planetary sciences." Congratulations!